Satan Speaks…

There is a difference between hearing & obeying…

Revelation 12:9-10 (The Message)

 7-12War broke out in Heaven. Michael and his Angels fought the Dragon. The Dragon and his Angels fought back, but were no match for Michael. They were cleared out of Heaven, not a sign of them left. The great Dragon—ancient Serpent, the one called Devil and Satan, the one who led the whole earth astray—thrown out, and all his Angels thrown out with him, thrown down to earth. Then I heard a strong voice out of Heaven saying,

   Salvation and power are established!
      Kingdom of our God, authority of his Messiah!
   The Accuser of our brothers and sisters thrown out,
      who accused them day and night before God.
   They defeated him through the blood of the Lamb
      and the bold word of their witness.
   They weren’t in love with themselves;
      they were willing to die for Christ.
   So rejoice, O Heavens, and all who live there,
      but doom to earth and sea,
   For the Devil’s come down on you with both feet;
      he’s had a great fall;
   He’s wild and raging with anger;
      he hasn’t much time and he knows it.

 via http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=revelation%2012:%209-10&version=MSG

It’s interesting that we, oftentimes, need to make an intentional effort to not obey that which we have no control over hearing. I just wanted to share that we can’t get away from Satan speaking but remind us that we fall away from God by not hearing what Satan says…but by obeying his word. 

I’ve been struggling a little lately with adopting what Satan/the devil/deceiver speaks as what I begin to believe in my mind, which ultimately has dictated and has the possibility to dictate my actions. Sometimes, what the deceiver speaks isn’t too far from what we really believe so obeying doesn’t really seem detrimental to us. Joyce Meyer wrote “Battlefield of the mind,” and this is so true. What we think in our minds affects our actions.

It is DANGEROUS to obey what Satan speaks.   

John 8:44 (The Message)

 42-47“If God were your father,” said Jesus, “you would love me, for I came from God and arrived here. I didn’t come on my own. He sent me. Why can’t you understand one word I say? Here’s why: You can’t handle it. You’re from your father, the Devil, and all you want to do is please him. He was a killer from the very start. He couldn’t stand the truth because there wasn’t a shred of truth in him. When the Liar speaks, he makes it up out of his lying nature and fills the world with lies. I arrive on the scene, tell you the plain truth, and you refuse to have a thing to do with me. Can any one of you convict me of a single misleading word, a single sinful act? But if I’m telling the truth, why don’t you believe me? Anyone on God’s side listens to God’s words. This is why you’re not listening—because you’re not on God’s side.”

via http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=John%208:44&version=MSG

If you haven’t heard, “the devil is a liar” before, I’ll be the one to tell you, “the devil is a liar!” Growing up hearing this hasn’t altered my weakness within the battlefield of my mind. Depending on what we listen to, the lies of the enemy are our truth, at least what we’ve accepted as truth. If living in lies is all we’ve ever known–OF COURSE–the truth is something we find rather difficult to obey.

I’ve discovered that the father of lies is persistent! Why did I feel the need to use an exclamation mark? Once we are aware of his persistence and why he speaks to us (to deceive), our obedience – our allegiance to doing more than simply hearing him can shift us into an awareness of truth. During my struggle, it’s really crazy, I woke up one morning and thought (the mind is a terrible thing to waste–don’t let the enemy steal your made up mind) ‘Do I really love God?’ and immediately I resolved in my heart and mind that obeying the voice of the enemy would position me against God and the truth that I live for. I rebuked that which I had allowed to enter my mind. I felt nervous and began thinking of all the other things that I had begun to let rule my life because I adopted that voice and held it captive in my mind. There is no doubt in MY mind that I love God. I told the enemy, “now, you know that you couldn’t get me there”.

I can’t say that I blame Satan, though. It is his mission to deceive and he will endure until the end…the end being when you will no longer adopt and tend to his voice.  

2 Corinthians 4:4 (The Message)

 3-4If our Message is obscure to anyone, it’s not because we’re holding back in any way. No, it’s because these other people are looking or going the wrong way and refuse to give it serious attention. All they have eyes for is the fashionable god of darkness. They think he can give them what they want, and that they won’t have to bother believing a Truth they can’t see. They’re stone-blind to the dayspring brightness of the Message that shines with Christ, who gives us the best picture of God we’ll ever get.

 via http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=2%20Corinthians%204:4&version=MSG

Don’t be discouraged. Have you allowed the voice of Satan to dwell in your mind and then control how you function? Have you lived your entire life in lies and know no truth? Are you unsure if you’ve been obeying the voice of Satan or the voice of truth? Have you been struggling to make up your mind?

My brothers & sisters, BE ENCOURAGED! There is a word, that if you are willing to accept can change how you fulfill the difference between hearing and obeying. Check the battlefield of your mind, who are you listening to and who are you obeying? The truth shall set you…listening to what can’t deceive you. Check out the word of God and tell me who you would rather obey.

James 4:7 (The Message)

 7-10So let God work his will in you. Yell a loud no to the Devil and watch him scamper. Say a quiet yes to God and he’ll be there in no time. Quit dabbling in sin. Purify your inner life. Quit playing the field. Hit bottom, and cry your eyes out. The fun and games are over. Get serious, really serious. Get down on your knees before the Master; it’s the only way you’ll get on your feet

via http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=james%204:7&version=MSG

Satan isn’t the only one speaking!

Leave a Reply

