When Will We Learn?

Hey all!

It has been such a long time since I’ve chimed in here. I just wanted to let you know that God is still working on me and that I’m glad that He isn’t finished yet. I’m just grateful today. I just finished reading a Freshly Pressed blog about ‘saying, “Thank You” and I just thought it was a great time to just share quickly.

Check out the following translations of I Timothy 2

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=I%20Timothy%202&version=NKJV;NIV;MSG

Hopefully, you took the time to check out the scripture but if not I hope this post will still be an offering that you can receive. Specifically, verses 8-10 (okay, I know, I may be “doing the most”; here it is in the New Revised Standard Version (NRSV))

“I desire, then, that in every place the men should pray, lifting up holy hands without anger or argument; also that the women should dress themselves modestly and decently in suitable clothing, not with their hair braided, or with gold, pearls, or expensive clothes, but with good works, as is proper for women who profess reverence for God. “

I Timothy 2: 8-10 (NRSV)

The, I, in the scripture is Paul speaking – teaching Timothy, his spiritual mentee or intern, if you will about prayer and ultimately how one should live because they pray. Now prior to today, my interpretation of this text was different and I’m sure it’s because of what I wanted to see – BUT – today, I’m grateful for the word that blessed me this day.

Here’s my truth. I’m a Christian who has struggled with prayer. That’s a concept that seems crazy to me because I love prayer but it’s true. I’m so far from perfect and sometimes, I don’t know how to turn to God when I feel so bad about decisions I’ve made, choices’ consequences that show me I wouldn’t have to endure the aftermath so long if I would have just turned to Him. When will we…when will I learn? Is prayer not a simple part of faith?

 

We will learn, when we are taught. *Perhaps, I’ll share my thoughts on the verses following the tenth verse at a later time; ‘women should learn in silence’. For now; however, we will learn when we know and acknowledge God as the answer. I’ve been frustrated for so long because I was doing so poorly in school. I eventually failed out and still struggled with why I chose what I had chosen – why would I choose not to do my work? I struggled for five years, still with no degree to show for it but one thing I did learn was that God is my answer – to every question. Turning to God was difficult for me, not only when I knew/know I did/do wrong, but when I knew He already had the answer/solution/remedy/instructions to change what was – into what should have been. Paul, as Timothy’s instructor/spiritual leader tells him of the importance of prayer.

Here is where reading that blog earlier about gratitude comes in. I’m just so grateful for God. I’m grateful that no matter how long it has been since I last showed up before God to learn – He still takes me into His classroom. He doesn’t have a limit to how many lessons He teaches me or us. I’m also grateful for those that God has sent to teach me (with no regard of age, gender, past, etc.). There are so many who have such an influence in my life. Most times, in my frustration, because I am afraid to fess up and go to God – those people urge me to turn to Him – to pray. Clearly, I still have some learning to do because it took me so long to turn but…when I did, God was there and He taught me. The scripture shares, near the close of the tenth verse that men/women ought to pray and live in such a way because they profess reverence for God.

Christian or not, if we profess to give reverence to something/someone, how do we treat them? I think it is important to note that if we profess, that means we tell/say to others. Are we sharing the lessons we have learned with others? Then, this concept of reverence…If we respect God, to offer our reverence to Him – what does that mean? It means that we appreciate Him. It means that we value Him enough to honor His instruction(s) in our living. In other words, we can’t talk about the teacher if we’ve never learned anything. We can’t profess that we learn when we repeat offenses and live in ways that dishonor our reverence. It is important to thank those who teach you. Whether they taught you from their own mistakes or just gave you *a name* of someone else that could teach you. I agree with the other blogger, that saying, “Thank You” matters and sometimes more than we realize.

 

When will we learn? When will we teach others the lessons we’ve learned? We learn and are instructed to live in such a way that will agree with our profession/our telling of the teacher’s lessons.

I’m learning and I’m trying to live like it.

As always – Stay blessed, a blessing & encouraged!

~ TrinityIzReal

Leave a Reply

