#ProcessingPurpose: Darell Houseton

7

  1. Do you believe you choose or claim/acknowledge your purpose? Is there a difference?
  2. What legacy are you actively living and hope to leave when you’ve finished living?
  3. Would you rather do anything else, besides your purpose, because it pays more? Why or why not?
  4. What excites you about living?
  5. Do you have any regrets? Can you forgive yourself, if you do?

Purpose is a daunting word. The concept of it can seem almost out of reach. Understanding it can appear as hopeless as why my wife buys new clothes when she has clothes with the tag on it in her closet! That’s a blog for a different series, #ProcessingPayments.

When it comes to having a purpose I think we can often times confuse it with having a goal. What do I mean by that? We ‘have’ (set) goals. We ‘have’ (discover) our purpose. In 2 Samuel 7, David makes it known that he wants to build a temple for the Lord. It’s his own personal GOAL. However, the Lord is clear in that He has set this PURPOSE, for someone else, his son. Essentially, I believe, the difference between the two words are the entities that set them in motion. Let’s turn to Moses for clarification. In his life, Moses ran from the Lord. He left Egypt, he started another life and even took on a new family. He accomplished what he set out to do and that was to flee Egypt and his past. God had a different purpose for Moses. We see that even as Moses accomplished what he wanted, it could not alter the purpose God had for him. Men and women set goals, the Lord sets our Purpose. “For I know the plans I have for you’, declares the Lord (Jeremiah 29:11).

The accomplishment of both our goals and the purposes God has for us determine the life we live and ultimately the legacy we leave. I’ve been fortunate that my goals and the purpose of my life have not only crossed paths but are intertwined. I hope my legacy reflects the transformative power of God. My goals are to change the world, but my purpose is to change lives. I hope when I am no longer of this Earth that my family and those who know me can say that Darell Houseton did all he could to respond to his calling and gave his heart to God and his hand to man.

I would never want to do anything apart from my purpose because it would be as unfulfilling accomplishments. I’m excited that every day of my life I get a legitimate shot at changing the world. Perhaps I won’t see it into fruition, but the knowledge of planting global revolutionary seeds is thrilling! Because of this, I don’t have any regrets. Rather, this possibility affords me the opportunity not to recognize my failings as regrets. It’s cliché to say that, “My mistakes made who I am.” Yet it’s true and more than that, they can help someone become who they are meant to be. In other words, even for those whom I am not a role model, perhaps I can be a cautionary tale. I forgive myself for them because of the good they may serve for someone else. My purpose in life is to help people, even my mistakes can do that!

Interviewee: Darell Houseton

Connect with Darell:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/dhouseton

Website: http://www.myfittemple.com/

One thought on “#ProcessingPurpose: Darell Houseton

  1. Even our mistakes can help people…indeed!! I enjoyed this one because he broke up everything to help us understand his reasons from a deeper level. I enjoyed the bible lesson about Moses.

Leave a Reply

